The Long Road Home celebration was held on June 21. This was the 19th anniversary of the Olmstead decision by the U.S. Supreme Court – the end of the “Long Road Home” for Americans with mental illness and developmental disabilities.

The Long Road Home began with two Georgia women, Lois Curtis and Elaine Wilson, who were involuntarily admitted to the psychiatric unit in a state-run regional hospital. They filed suit for release under the Americans with Disability Act and won.

During the celebration, Community Bank was named 2018 “Friend of The Jessamine Place”. Award was presented to Shane Sapp. Other special guests included Fitzgerald High School JROTC, Senator Tyler Harper, State Representative Clay Pirkle, (JP Founder) Philip Jay and Cheri Mitchell, National Chair of the Long Road Home from Atlanta, Georgia. Also, Charles with his Host Home Provider, Dorothy told about his own experience of being released from the state hospital in Thomasville and Dorothy talked about Charles being a part of her family during the good times and challenging times.

Version 2

Comments are closed.